Managing Vodafone Alerts

Vodafone Alerts are notifications to let you know when you’ve used 50%, 85% and 100% of your plan’s included value or data.

How are they sent?

  • Personal phone plans – your alerts will be sent in a TXT message
  • Mobile broadband plans – they’re sent to the email bill address on your account. If you're not on email bill, they'll be sent in a TXT to your mobile broadband device - check out our support page if you need help retrieving them
  • Shared business plans - The account administrator can choose to receive either a TXT or email alert. The shared services on the account will not be individually alerted to their usage 
  • Non-shared business plans - Alerts are sent to users as a TXT message

What if I need more?

Look at adding a pack or booster, or changing your plan:

I'm sharing my Red plan and got an alert, how can I tell which numbers are using the most?

It's likely that all of the services on your account would have contributed to the usage, so you're best to log into My Vodafone to check. Once you're in, swipe across to the right until you get to ‘other’, enter your PIN, and you'll be able to see the usage for each user.
 

Changing your Vodafone Alert settings

Step 1

Log into or register for My Vodafone.

Step 2

Select ‘Account settings’ from the top right menu of the My Usage homepage and then select ‘Vodafone Alerts'.

Step 3

Your current status for Vodafone Alerts will be shown. If you want to change your settings, click the ‘On/Off’ button and then click ‘Save Settings’.


More info

  • We don't want to bother you while you're sleeping, so alerts are only sent via TXT between 7am and 10pm local time when you're in Australia. This isn't the case when you're overseas so you may want to switch your phone off or put it on silent to ensure a good night's sleep
  • Your data alerts are based on 50%, 85% and 100% of the total data available. So, if you have a data add on or bonus data, your alerts are based on all your data added together
  • If you add a Data Add-on, Data Booster or Talk and TXT Booster part way through your billing month, we'll send separate alerts for them. For Add-ons, the following month it'll be included as part of your total monthly data allowance
  • We'll get alerts to you as quickly as we can, but they can be delayed by up to 18 hours after you reached 50%, 85% or 100% of your included value. If you're roaming overseas using $5 Roaming, alerts can be delayed by up to 72 hours.
  • If you use a lot of your included value or data within a short space of time, you may find that more than one of your alerts are sent without any time between them. For example, if your plan included 500MB of data and you download a full length movie on 4G, you're likely receive your 50%, 85% and 100% data alerts in one go
  • If you’ve received a 100% notification for your plan’s included value and then add a Booster or Data Add-on, it’ll only apply to charges incurred after you added it. Boosters and add-ons don’t absorb usage retrospectively so should be added before you reach 100%
  • If you're on a plan with a 1GB for $10 overage rate, we'll send Vodafone Alerts when you've used 85% and 100% of the extra 1GB. The 100% alert will also let you know that an additional 1GB has been applied
  • If you're on a plan with a $6 for 60 standard international minutes to selected countries overage rate, we'll send Vodafone Alerts when you've used 85% and 100% of the 60 minutes. The 100% alert will also let you know that an additional $6 for 60 standard international minutes to selected countries has been applied
  • If you’re on Data Workout, you won’t receive Vodafone Alerts for data used in Australia until your Data Workout period has ended

Did this answer your question?

Yes No