You've come to the right place.
This support article will give you key information about changing your phone plan. If you signed up to a Red Plan after 16 August 2017 or a Month to Month plan, you can change your plan at no cost. You’re able to change your plan once per billing cycle.
The best way to change your plan is through My Vodafone.
You can also change your plan:
Will it cost anything to change my plan?
If you signed up to a 12 month SIM Only plan after 16 August 2017, you can change to another 12 month SIM Only plan after 3 months. There won’t be any cost provided you move to a plan with an equal or higher minimum monthly spend. There may be additional fees if you move to a plan with a lower minimum monthly spend.
If you signed up to a 12 or 24 month Red plan before 16 August 2017 and you’re still in contract, you can change your plan to another existing plan. There won’t be any cost provided you move to a plan with an equal or higher minimum monthly spend. However, there may be additional fees if you move to a plan with a lower minimum monthly spend.
Moving to a plan with a lower minimum monthly spend will incur a Mid Term Upgrade fee. This fee is calculated by multiplying the difference in cost between the two plans by the number of months you have left in your contract.
If you signed up to a 12 or 24 month Red plan before 16 August 2017, you also won’t be able to change to one of our current plans unless you pay an Early Upgrade Fee to upgrade your plan. The Early Upgrade Fee is based on your remaining monthly plan fees and/or Mobile Payment Plan.
When can I start using my new plan?
You’ll be able to start using your new plan as soon as you receive a confirmation TXT message.
Will my contract start again if I change plans?
No. Switching between contract plans doesn't cause your contract to start again. We'll automatically transfer the remaining term of your agreement.
When will I start being charged for the new plan?
We’ll start charging you for it from the start of your next bill cycle.
For example, if you changed from a $30 to a $50 plan on 30 March and your bill cycle date was on the 5th of each month, you’d start paying for the $50 plan from 5 April.
What differences will I see in my bill after I change plans?
The first bill you receive after changing plans will display a charge for the new plan for the month ahead.
There will also be a part monthly charge listed as $0.00.
The plan you moved from is also listed with credit from the cancelled plan at $0.00.
There might also be a mid-term upgrade fee if you move to a plan that’s valued at less than your original plan.
How often can I change plans?
You can switch plans once per billing cycle.
Will I be able to switch back to my old plan?
If the plan you were on is no longer offered then you won’t be able to switch back to it. To see what plans are currently available, visit our plans page.
Can I move to a different type of plan?
Not all our current plans will be available to switch to within your contract period. For example, you’ll be unable to move between:
Will the instalments for my Mobile Payment Plan or Accessories Payment Plan change?
No. If you’re paying off a device or accessories with a Mobile Payment Plan or Accessories Payment Plan, the monthly instalments will remain the same after changing plans.
How do I change plans and get a new device?
If you’re looking to upgrade your device, check out our support page on upgrading your device.